new blog


Sunday, October 11, 2009

Asian Rap Worldwide Presents: The LS Mixtape

The LS Mixtape front

The LS Mixtape back

I'm very proud to announce that Asian Rap Worldwide has just released its very first mixtape called The LS Mixtape!! The LS mixtape features 12 songs from LS, a Chinese-American rapper from New York that rapped about his life experiences in the streets of New York's Chinatown. He was coming up in the rap game around the same time when Asian-American rappers such as Jin, Chan and Shogunna were also coming up. That was in the early millenium which marked the beginning stages of an Asian-American hip hop movement, which LS was a part of. If you haven't heard any new songs from LS lately, that is because LS is not rapping anymore (or at least is putting his rapping on hold for a while). LS explains it all in this the email he sent to me:

Wuts good Royal? Sorry bout the delay, after i got out the hospital n all i had to catch up on mad shit but i didn't forget about you... i appreciate the luv fam... i juss wanna let you kno that, i haven't been in the game for a minute now... it seems my time has come and gone... it's funny because when i was younger i had dreams of making it big but i never thought it could ever happen... then when it really did start happening n things started to take off it kinda took me by surprise because it was happening so fast and i didn't really kno what to do with it, all the visions i was having was coming tru but i wasn't really taking it that seriously when i should of been... but thats how life is sumtimes... whether i decide to pursue music again or not i could say say that i've definitely made my mark... even with the limited amount of songs that i put out there, i'm still arguably one of the best asian american artist that did it... it was definitely fun while it lasted and who knows, maybe i'll pick up the mic again n show these niggas wuts up lol... HOLLA AT THE KID!


Well... you heard it straight from LS. Now about the mixtape. The LS Mixtape is a mix of some originals, some covers over instrumental beats and some collaborations with other Asian rappers. I have already covered quite a few of LS's songs already that will be on the mixtape (search: LS). Another song that you should definitely give a listen to is Life Or Death featuring Ailee. That song is pretty deep and you can tell that LS wrote that song based on his own life struggles.

DOWNLOAD: Asian Rap Worldwide Presents -The LS Mixtape

Track listing:

01 I'm Back
02 Mr. Right Mr. Wrong feat Jin
03 Checkmate feat Jay Chou
04 Long Road Ahead
05 Notorious (Chinatown)
06 Still A Chink feat Jin, Shogunna, Chan, Rookadamus & Young Mac
07 4th Chamber feat Jin & Chan
08 Protect Ya Neck Remix feat Jin, Young Mac, Thai Streets, SouthStar, Chan & FM
09 Life I Chose
10 Life or Death feat Ailee
11 Last Laugh feat Jay Uno
12 Changes